Segmentation?

Timofey

Bitcoin needs to significantly reduce blockchain bloat by having miners
generate new genesis blocks every once in a while- say every 1,000
blocks, about once a week.

A new genesis block needs to contain a 2nd coinbase tx that
consolidates all previous coinbase txs since the previous genesis
block and copies of all previously validated utxos that are changed
to reference the 2nd coinbase tx instead of previous tx outputs.

This would not require anyone to delete old transaction data but it
would permit it. It would segment the blockchain and end the endless
growth. With regular blocks limited to 1MB, each segment would be
limited to 1GB- small enough for any smart phone.

Hey, I'm not a programmer so, if anyone creates a new SHA256 coin
(not a token) based on this or something similar, please let me know!

Braden

Ahhh are you yet to find the prune option which means you only have to store a small amount of the chain (I think it's 4gb min or it used to be). This means you can sync transactions and keep the mempool avaliable but also allow for lara data you don't need to be deleted.

The last 100000 blocks also are the ones bloated the most. When we were in the early 500000s we were at about half the size we are now.

This might give more information if you're interested in running a pruned node: https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/37496/how-can-i-run-bitcoind-in-pruning-mode

Braden

Ahhh are you yet to find the prune option which means you only have to store a small amount of the chain (I think it's 4gb min or it used to be). This means you can sync transactions and keep the mempool avaliable but also allow for lara data you don't need to be deleted.
Pruning is good but not enough. Syncing transactions is a nightmare and what makes pruning almost useless.

Ayaan

I might be wrong but that sounds like you'd get a really huge checkpoint block every N blocks which would make an especially critical block especially likely to be orphaned.